About Ten Cents


We are 10 Cents A Meal For School Kids & Farms, a state-funded pilot program providing schools with match incentive funding up to 10 cents per meal to purchase and serve Michigan-grown fruits, vegetables, and legumes.

Yearly Legislative Reports




  • Improve daily nutrition and eating habits for Michigan children through the school setting.
  • Invest in Michigan agriculture and related local food business economy.


Serving two of Michigan's Prosperity Regions (Regions 2 & 4) in our 2016-2017 inaugural year, we have grown to serve 5 (Regions 2, 4, 6, 8, & 9) of Michigan’s 10 Prosperity Regions in 2018-2019. School districts from 43 counties were eligible to apply for grants, and 55 districts were awarded them, up from 32 districts last year.


2018-2019 Grantee Districts

Prosperity Region 2:

18 Districts: Bear Lake Schools, Beaver Island Community School, Benzie County Central Schools, Boyne Falls Public School District, East Jordan Public Schools, Forest Area Community Schools, Frankfort-Elberta Area Schools, Glen Lake Community Schools, Kaleva Norman Dickson School District, Leland Public School District, Mancelona Public Schools, Manton Consolidated Schools, Onekama Consolidated Schools, Pellston Public Schools, Public Schools of Petoskey, St. Francis High School, Suttons Bay Public Schools, Traverse City Area Public Schools

Prosperity Region 411 Districts: Belding Area School District, Coopersville Area Public School District, Hart Public School District, Holland City School District, Montague Area Public Schools, Saugatuck Public Schools, Shelby Public Schools, Thornapple Kellogg School District, West Ottawa Public School District, Whitehall District Schools, Zeeland Public Schools

Prosperity Region 6

7 Districts: Elkton-Pigeon-Bay Port Laker Schools, Flint Community Schools, Genesee Intermediary School District, Grand Blanc Community Schools, Mayville Community School District, Morrice Area Schools, Owosso Public Schools

Prosperity Region 8

8 Districts: Battle Creek Public Schools, Bridgman Public Schools, Coldwater Community Schools, Decatur Public Schools, Mattawan Consolidated School, Paw Paw Public School District, South Haven Public Schools, Trinity Lutheran School.

Prosperity Region 9:

11 Districts: Ann Arbor Public Schools, Bedford Public Schools, Concord Community Schools, Dexter Community School District, Grass Lake Community Schools, Hanover-Horton School District, Hillsdale Community Schools, Jackson Public Schools, Manchester Community Schools, Monroe Public Schools, Whitmore Lake Public School District

“We believe the timing was right for this pilot, and for potential expansion next year, because schools are serving a greater variety of fruits and vegetables and that is exactly what Michigan farmers grow.” - State Superintendent Brian J. Whiston In Memoriam

Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Steven Hanna
    published this page in About 2018-09-11 12:04:30 -0400