Healthy Kids, Thriving Farms

Download the Report



Michigan's 10 Cents A Meal For School Kids and Farms pilot program is providing schools with match incentive funding up to 10 cents per meal to purchase and serve Michigan-grown produce to an estimated 95,000 students in 32 grant-winning school districts.

A *NEW* report from the Michigan Department of Education on the 2017-2018 year  shows that many school children are being introduced to new fruits and vegetables as a result of this funding, and the program is investing in Michigan’s economy and jobs at the same time.


Superintendent Brian Whiston

“We believe the timing was right for this pilot, and for potential expansion next year, because schools are serving a greater variety of fruits and vegetables and that is exactly what Michigan farmers grow.” - State Superintendent Brian J. Whiston


2017-2018 Grantee districts

Prosperity Region 2:

  • 14 grant-winning districts in seven counties in a 10-county region
  • 22,567 students
  • Districts are: Alanson Public Schools, Bear Lake Schools, Benzie County Central Schools, Boyne Falls Public School District, East Jordan Public Schools, Frankfort-Elberta Area Schools, Glen Lake Community Schools, Harbor Springs School District, Kaleva Norman Dickson School District, Manton Consolidated Schools, Onekama Consolidated Schools, Pellston Public Schools, Public Schools of Petoskey, Traverse City Area Public Schools
  • Counties are: Benzie, Charlevoix, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Leelanau, Manistee, Wexford

Prosperity Region 4:

  • 11 grant-winning school districts in seven counties in a 13-county region
  • 28,956 students
  • Districts are: Belding Area School District, Coopersville Area Public School District, Grand Haven Area Public Schools, Hart Public School District, Holland City School District, Lowell Area Schools, Montague Area Public Schools, Saugatuck Public Schools, Shelby Public Schools, Thornapple Kellogg School District, Whitehall District Schools
  • Counties are: Allegan, Barry, Ionia, Kent, Muskegon, Oceana, Ottawa

Prosperity Region 9:

  • Seven grant-winning school districts in four counties of a six-county region
  • 43,370 students
  • Districts are: Ann Arbor Public Schools, Bedford Public Schools, Dexter Community School District, Hillsdale Community Schools, Jackson Public Schools, Monroe Public Schools, Ypsilanti Community Schools
  • Counties are: Hillsdale, Jackson, Monroe, Washtenaw


What People Are Saying

Students, advocates, administrators and growers share their excitement about 10 Cents a Meal For School Kids & Farms.   Continue reading

Economic Benefits

In 2016-2017, 10 Cents bolstered Michigan's local food economy by $420,000. It is also helping to build or strengthen transparent business supply chains that make it easier for schools to choose Michigan-grown products. Continue reading

Improved Access to Local Food

Schools typically have only $1 - $1.20 a meal to spend on food, and of that, about 30 cents is for fruits and vegetables. A matching 10 cents, food service directors say, help them serve more fresh produce instead of canned. It also provides them with the flexibility to try new things to see what their students like. Continue reading

Marketing & Education

10 Cents schools use taste tests, harvest of the month lessons, nutrition education, and school gardens to promote local foods to students and their families. Continue reading