About Overview


We are 10 Cents A Meal For Michigan's Kids & Farms, a state-funded program providing schools and early childhood education centers with match incentive funding up to 10 cents per meal to purchase and serve Michigan-grown fruits, vegetables, and legumes.

Yearly Legislative Reports

















  • Improve daily nutrition and eating habits for Michigan children through the school setting.
  • Invest in Michigan agriculture and related local food business economy.


For the first time, 10 Cents a Meal is available statewide.

This year’s 138 grantees serve more than 406,000 children, spanning all 10 regions of the Michigan Association of Superintendents & Administrators and 44 of Michigan's 83 counties. Our grantees hail from communities stretching from SE Michigan to the Upper Peninsula. 

***Check out our interactive map at the bottom of the page to see grantees' locations.***


MASA Region Map

2020-2021 GRANTEES

Region 1: Bay Pines Center (DHS), Gwinn Area Community Schools, Hancock Public Schools, Houghton-Portage Township School District, Inter-Tribal Council of Michigan Head Start, Stanton Township Public Schools

6 grantees serving 3, 544 children in 4 of 15 counties.

Region 2: Alpena Public Schools, Bear Lake Schools, Benzie County Central Schools, Boyne Falls Public School District, East Jordan Public Schools, Elk Rapids Schools, Frankfort-Elberta Area Schools, Glen Lake Community Schools, Houghton Lake Community Schools, Kaleva Norman Dickson School District, Kingsley Area Schools, Leelanau Children's Center, Leland Public School District, Manistee Area Public Schools, Northport Public School District, Onekama Consolidated Schools, Pellston Public Schools, Public Schools of Petoskey, Grand Traverse Area Catholic Schools/St. Francis High School, Suttons Bay Public Schools, Traverse City Area Public Schools, 

21 grantees serving 28,201 children in 9 of 21 counties.

Region 3 Grantees: Allendale Christian School, Baxter Community Center Inc., Belding Area School District, Coopersville Area Public School District, Delton Kellogg Schools, Fennville Public Schools, Forest Hills Public Schools, Fremont Public School District, Grand Haven Area Public Schools, Greenville Public Schools, Hart Public School District, Holland City School District, Kent County Juvenile Detention, Kentwood Public Schools,  Lowell Area Schools, Mason County Eastern Schools, Montague Area Public Schools, Muskegon Heights Public School Academy System, Muskegon Public Schools, New Branches Charter Academy, Saugatuck Public Schools, Shelby Public Schools, Thornapple Kellogg School District, Wedgwood Christian Services, West Ottawa Public School District, Whitehall District Schools, Zeeland Public Schools

27 grantees serving 71,014 children in 10 of 13 counties.

Region 4 Grantees: Beaverton Rural Schools, Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District, Carrollton Public Schools, Harrison Community Schools, Ithaca Public Schools, Midland Public Schools, School District of the City of Saginaw, Saint Paul Christian Day Care & Preschool Center, YMCA of Saginaw

9 grantees serving 19,862 children in 5 of 8 counties.

Region 5 Grantees: Davison Community Schools, Dryden Community Schools, Elkton-Pigeon-Bay Port Laker Schools, Genesee ISD, Lapeer Community Schools, Marysville Public Schools, Mayville Public Schools/Mayville High School, St. Paul Lutheran, YMCA of Greater Flint

9 grantees serving 15,092 children in 5 of 6 counties.

Region 6 Grantees: Charlotte Public Schools, Holt Public Schools, Lansing Catholic Central High School, Lansing Public School District, Owosso Public Schools

5 grantees serving 21,764 children in 3 of 4 counties.

Region 7 Grantees: Bangor Public Schools (Van Buren), Battle Creek Public Schools, Berrien RESA, Coldwater Community Schools, Coloma Community Schools, Covert Public Schools, Harper Creek Community Schools, Kalamazoo County Juvenile Home, Kalamazoo Public Schools, Lakeview School District (Calhoun), Lawrence Public Schools, Mar Lee School District, Mattawan Consolidated School, Paw Paw Public School District, Pennfield Schools, South Haven Public Schools, Tri-County Council for Child Development, Watervliet School District, YWCA Children's Center

19 grantees serving 41,573 children in 5 of 7 counties.

Region 8 Grantees: Adrian Public Schools, Ann Arbor Public Schools, Bedford Public Schools, Camden-Frontier Schools, Concord Community Schools, Dexter Community School District, Grass Lake Community Schools, Hanover-Horton School District, Hillsdale Community Schools, Jackson Public Schools, Manchester Community Schools, Michigan Center School District, Springport Public Schools, Whitmore Lake Public School District, Ypsilanti Community Schools

15 grantees serving 43,598 children in 5 of 6 counties.

Region 9/10 Grantees: American International Academy, Armada Area Schools, Avondale School District, Bloomfield Hills Schools, Christ Child House, Clarkston Community School District, Dearborn City School District, Detroit Achievement Academy, Detroit Public Schools Community District, Eastpointe Community Schools, Hamtramck Public Schools, Harper Woods School District, Huron School District, L'Anse Creuse Public Schools, Little Jungle Learning Center, Macomb ISD, Oxford Community Schools, Richmond Community Schools, Southfield Public School District, Spectrum Juvenile Justice Services, Taylor School District, Trinity Lutheran School, Troy School District, Vista Maria/Clara B Ford School, Warren Consolidated Schools, Waterford School District, YMCA of Metropolitan Detroit

27 grantees serving 161,588 children in 3 of 3 counties.


The legislature and Governor Whitmer expanded the program from $575,000 to $2 million this year and expanded it statewide. With this expansion, grantees stretch from corner to corner in the state, from the Detroit region to the Upper Peninsula -- both areas that were eligible for the first time. Additionally, early childhood education centers can participate for the first time.

The nearly 140 grantees that were recently chosen by the Michigan Department of Education (MDE) for the current school year is an increase from 57 grantees in pilot regions the last full pilot year.